Congratulations to the 2019-2020 AIA Detroit Christopher Kelley Leadership Development Program Cohort!

Matt Biglin, Lorcan O’Herlihy Architects

Stephanie Bonderczuk, Saroki Architecture, Inc.

Alex Froehlich, Norr Architects

Charles Hass, Integrated Design Solutions

Charles Harris, SmithGroup

Wenching Ding, Gensler

Spenser Jaskiewicz, Stantec

Kyle Keaffaber, krM Architecture

Chris Lattimer, Quinn Evans Architects

Nichole McNamera, Thomas Roberts Architects

Ellen Moore, TMP Architecture

Jade Pyman-Stansbury, Fishbeck, Thompson, Carr & Huber

Kevin Rosenberg, Jeffery A. Scott Architecture

Katy Rupp, Ghafari

Michael Shuell, NSA Architects, Engineers, Planners

Ernesto Whitsitt, Neumann Smith

Thank you to our 2019-2020 CKLDP Benefactor Sponsors!

Sponsorship Opportunities for the 2019-2020 program are now available for both Benefactor (Annual) and individual Session Sponsorships. The Program Committee is also looking for potential speakers and venues for individual sessions; if you’re interested in providing sponsorship, venue, or speaker support, please reach out to the Program Committee at CKLDP@AIADetroit.com.

Kevin Bouchey, Strategic Energy Solutions

Leland Curtis, SmithGroup

Ethan Dome, HKS

Justin Fiema, SmithGroup

Bria Johnson, Hamilton Anderson Associates

Joshua Maddox, SmithGroup

Frank Majewski, SmithGroup

Nate Meade, GMB

Timothy Morris, Bedrock Detroit

Karin Neubauer, Quinn Evans Architects

Lauren Pedigo, SmithGroup

Erin Porter, Spackman Mossop Michaels

Bryan Seef, SmithGroup

Samantha Szeszulski, Stantec

Zachary VanOverbeke, Integrated Design Solutions

Margaret Whitfield, Yamasaki

The 8 scholar-led sessions for the 2018-2019 curriculum included:

The AIA Detroit CKLDP is made possible with the support of the AIA College of Fellows 2018 Component Grant for Emerging Professionals, and 2018-2019 Benefactor Sponsors Quinn Evans Architects, SmithGroup, and The Eisen Group. For more information on how to support or sponsor the program or individual sessions, please contact CKLDP@AIADetroit.com

The Christopher Kelley Leadership Development Program (CKLDP) was founded in 2013 by the Emerging Architects Committee as part of the AIA|DC Chapter. The program is in memory of Christopher Kelley, an employee of Gensler and an active member of the DC architectural community. Christopher was a recipient of the AIA Young Architects Award in 2010 and an exemplary, emerging young leader. Since its founding, the CKLDP has been established in Washington DC, Denver, Detroit, and Miami, and strives to carry forward Christopher’s legacy by actively training and nurturing the next generation of leaders within the architectural profession.

The year-long program consists of nine individual half-day sessions attended by a competitively selected group of 16 emerging professionals from in and around Detroit.  The curriculum focuses on core skills such as entrepreneurship and firm management, the art of negotiation, bringing in new clients, community leadership, industry culture, and developing one’s future within the practice.

The leadership program participants are responsible for planning and participating in each of the individual sessions. Each year, scholars from the previous year are selected to help guide the next year’s class. In this way, the program is continually evolving, allowing the scholars to learn on an ongoing basis about thoughts and ideas relevant to the architectural profession today.

Congratulations to the 16 Scholars of the 2017-2018 Cohort
who recently completed the inaugural session of the AIAD CKLDP:

The 8 scholar-led sessions for the 2017-2018 curriculum included:

For more information about The Christopher Kelley Leadership Development Program, visit https://ckldp.wordpress.com/


Committee News


Committee News